Jump to content

The Cumberland Three - Songs Of The Civil War (1960)


Recommended Posts

  • SuperModerator

The Cumberland Three - Songs Of The Civil War (1960)


This short-lived US attraction was formed in 1960 at the behest of Roulette Records, who were anxious to find a group similar to the Kingston Trio. Folk duo John And Monty, John Stewart (5 September 1939, San Diego, California, USA, d. 19 January 2008, San Diego, California, USA) and John Montgomery, were joined by bass player Gil Robbins to form the new act. The Cumberland Three remained together for 18 months, but although their debut album, Folk Scene U.S.A. , showed promise, two successive sets were less rewarding. Mike Settle, later of the New Christy Minstrels, augmented the trio in concert, but the group broke up when Robbins left in the summer of 1961. He subsequently joined the Highwaymen, while Stewart, already an accomplished songwriter, replaced Dave Guard in the aforementioned Kingston Trio.

01. Hallowed Ground (02:42)
02. I Don't Want No Pardon (03:00)
03. Lay Ten Dollars Down (02:13)
04. Number 292 (02:55)
05. Aura Lee (02:40)
06. The Yellow Rose Of Texas (02:13)
07. Goober Peas (02:23)
08. Pickets Lament (02:50)
09. Hold Our Glasses Steady (02:02)
10. Bessie (02:12)
11. The Coward (02:04)
12. Well All Take A Ride (02:02)
13. Down To Washington (02:12)
14. Marching Home (02:43)
15. Story Of The Lamb (01:59)
16. Tobacco Box (01:28)
17. Gonna Get You (01:45)
18. Bring The Good Old Bugle (02:19)
19. Song Of The Hungry (02:09)
20. Shipmates Come Gather (03:14)
21. The Boys Are Home (02:13)
22. Back To Home (01:35)
23. Battle Hymn Of The Republic (03:09)

Total Playtime: 54:02

| Genre: National Folk | Label: Rhino | MP3 VBR0 (245~320kbps) | Scans | 90.57 MB |

To avoid pop-up/pop-under windows from the MirrorCreator site:
1. Right-click on the host you want to download from and select "Open in a new tab"
2. Right-Click again on the provided link and select again "Open in a new Tab"
3. Download from the host and close the 2 previously opened windows.
Doing so you will almost never have pop-up/pop-under windows.

HINT ... if you download from zippyshare
If Firefox is your browser, then right-click on the [DOWNLOAD] button and select "Save Link As..."
You won't have any pop-up window at all!

  • Hidden Content

      Give reaction to this post to see the hidden content.

Password: forum-andr.net

Cheers, :hi:

  • Like 2
Link to comment

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Create New...