Jump to content

The Allman Brothers Band - Brothers And Sisters (1973)


Recommended Posts

  • SuperModerator

The Allman Brothers Band - Brothers And Sisters (1973)


Following the death of group leader Duane Allman in 1971, the Allman Brothers Band released Eat a Peach (1972), a hybrid studio/live album that became their biggest yet. Afterwards, the group purchased a farm in Juliette, Georgia to become a "group hangout." However, bassist Berry Oakley was visibly suffering from the death of Duane: he excessively drank and consumed drugs. After nearly a year of severe depression, things seemed to be looking up for Oakley before he was killed in a motorcycle accident not dissimilar from his friend's in November 1972.

The band carried on, adding new members Chuck Leavell on piano and Lamar Williams on bass. Brothers and Sisters was largely recorded over a period of three months at Capricorn Sound Studios in Macon, Georgia. Lead guitarist Dickey Betts assumed the role of band leader, and many of his compositions reflected a more country-inspired twang. The band did not replace Duane with another lead guitarist, although session musicians Les Dudek and Tommy Talton sat in to play on several songs. The album was being produced at the same time as vocalist Gregg Allman's solo debut, Laid Back, and features many of the same musicians and engineers. The front album cover features a photograph of Vaylor Trucks, the son of drummer Butch Trucks and his wife Linda. The back cover features a photograph of Brittany Oakley, the daughter of bassist Berry Oakley and his wife Linda.

The album represented the Allman's commercial peak: it was released to high sales, landing it at the top of the Top 200 Pop Albums for five weeks. "Ramblin' Man" became the band's first and only hit single, peaking at number two on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1973. The commercial success of the record propelled the Allman Brothers Band to the forefront of popular music. The album's extended touring cycle saw the band performing in arenas and stadiums, all while drug use spiraled out of control within the group, in addition to strained friendship and miscommunication.

01. Wasted Words (04:21)
02. Ramblin Man (04:48)
03. Come And Go Blues (04:56)
04. Jelly Jelly (05:46)
05. Southbound (05:10)
06. Jessica (07:31)
07. Pony Boy (05:51)

Total Playtime: 38:23

| Genre: Southern Rock / Blues Rock | Label: Capricorn / Polydor Records | MP3 225~320 Kbps (VBR0) | 69.65 MB |

To avoid pop-up/pop-under windows from the MirrorCreator site:

1. Right-click on the host you want to download from and select "Open in a new tab"
2. Right-Click again on the provided link and select again "Open in a new Tab"
3. Download from the host and close the 2 previously opened windows.
Doing so you will almost never have pop-up/pop-under windows.


  • Hidden Content

      Give reaction to this post to see the hidden content.


Password: forum-andr.net

Cheers, ;)

  • Like 3
Link to comment
  • SuperModerator

Gamefront and Rapidgator links are still alive.

Link to comment

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Create New...