Jump to content

Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings 1936-1937 (1990)


Recommended Posts


Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings (1990)



The Complete Recordings is a compilation album by American blues musician Robert Johnson, released August 28, 1990 on Columbia Records. The album's recordings were recorded in two sessions in Dallas and San Antonio, Texas for the American Record Company (ARC) during 1936 and 1937. Most of the songs were first released on 78rpm records in 1937. The Complete Recordings contains every recording Johnson is known to have made, with the exception of an alternate take of "Travelling Riverside Blues".

Robert Leroy Johnson (May 8, 1911 – August 16, 1938) was an American blues  singer and musician. His landmark recordings from 1936–1937 display a remarkable combination of singing, guitar skills, and songwriting talent that have influenced generations of musicians. Johnson's shadowy, poorly documented life and death at age 27 have given rise to much legend, including a Faustian myth.

Johnson's songs, vocal phrasing and guitar style have influenced a broad range of musicians; Eric Clapton has called Johnson "the most important blues singer that ever lived". Johnson was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as an "Early Influence" in their first induction ceremony in 1986. He was ranked fifth in Rolling Stone's list of 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time.

* Delta Blues
* Bitrate 256 kbps
* ul.to
* 196 mb


Disc 1
1. Kind Hearted Woman Blues 2:49
2. Kind Hearted Woman Blues (alternate take) 2:31
3. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom 2:56
4. Sweet Home Chicago 2:59
5. Rambling on My Mind 2:51
6. Rambling on My Mind (alternate take) 2:20
7. When You Got a Good Friend 2:37
8. When You Got a Good Friend (alternate take) 2:50
9. Come On in My Kitchen 2:47
10. Come On in My Kitchen (alternate take) 2:35
11. Terraplane Blues 3:00
12. Phonograph Blues 2:37
13. Phonograph Blues (alternate take) 2:35
14. 32-20 Blues 2:51
15. They're Red Hot 2:56
16. Dead Shrimp Blues 2:30
17. Cross Road Blues 2:39
18. Cross Road Blues (alternate take) 2:29
19. Walkin' Blues 2:28
20. Last Fair Deal Gone Down 2:39

Disc 2
1. Preaching Blues (Up Jumped the Devil) 2:50
2. If I Had Possession over Judgment Day 2:34
3. Stones in My Passway 2:27
4. I'm a Steady Rollin' Man 2:35
5. From Four Till Late 2:23
6. Hellhound on My Trail 2:35
7. Little Queen of Spades 2:11
8. Little Queen of Spades (alternate take) 2:15
9. Malted Milk 2:17
10. Drunken Hearted Man 2:24
11. Drunken Hearted Man (alternate take) 2:19
12. Me and the Devil Blues 2:37
13. Me and the Devil Blues (alternate take) 2:29
14. Stop Breakin' Down Blues 2:16
15. Stop Breakin' Down Blues (alternate take) 2:21
16. Traveling Riverside Blues 2:47
17. Honeymoon Blues 2:16
18. Love in Vain 2:28
19. Love in Vain (alternate take) 2:19
20. Milkcow's Calf Blues 2:14
21. Milkcow's Calf Blues (alternate take) 2:20



Hidden Content

    Give reaction to this post to see the hidden content.

pass: 123

Edited by BamSec1
BamSec1... Removed: 1/text in quotes 2/tags.
  • Like 3
Link to comment
  • SuperModerator

@mahadevidas: Thanks for sharing this wonderful album.

I removed the tags and added them in the Topic Description.

FYI Please read the Audio section rules on how to post.

Here are already a few hints;
Topic Title: Artist Name - Album Name (YEAR) ... nothing else!
Topic Description: All other info, i.e. 2CDs, FLAC, Sony, MP3, 320kbps, Deluxe Edition (except if it's on the album cover, then it also goes in Topic Title) WAV etc. etc.

Adding missing picture in post #1 here.


Cheers, :hi:

  • Like 1
Link to comment

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Create New...